Lemon Chicken Orzo Soup

Well, it finally happened. I finally caught the bug that’s been going around at work. Thankfully it’s just a cold, but still kicking my butt nonetheless. I really wish I could breathe right now. It sure makes eating difficult! And I like to eat! I figured I’d catch something, especially with my immune system lowered from the medications I’m on. I’m literally laying in a sea of tissues and throat lozenges on the couch with my two cats. Oh, and they are no help whatsoever, by the way.

So here I am, fending for myself and I decided that I’d make some soup this weekend. This recipe is one of my favorites. I always keep going back to it when I’m feeling like eating a good, light soup. I absolutely love orzo! It’s a pasta, but it looks like a rice! It’s so mysterious!

The cast:

img_8202

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 lb chicken tenderloins, cut into 1 inch chunks
  • salt and pepper
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 4 carrots, peeled and diced
  • 1/2 tsp dried thyme
  • 5 cups chicken stock
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 3/4 cup orzo (uncooked)
  • 1 sprig rosemary
  • juice of 1 lemon

Heat half of the olive oil in a large pot over medium heat.

img_8203

Season the chicken pieces with salt and pepper and add to the pot.

img_8205

Cook the chicken pieces until golden and set aside.

img_8204

Heat the remaining oil in the pot and add the chopped carrots, onions, and minced garlic. Nothing like opening the sinuses up and turning myself into a disgusting, blubbering mess than with chopping onions.

img_8206

Cook the carrots, onions, and garlic about 3-4 minutes until tender, stirring occasionally. The delicious smell of the onions and garlic cooking help make up for the fact that the onions brought tears to my eyes not a minute earlier.

img_8207

Add in the thyme and cook for about a minute.

img_8208

Whisk in the chicken stock, bay leaves, and 1 cup of water.

img_8210

Bring the pot to a boil.

img_8211

Stir in the uncooked orzo, rosemary sprig, and chicken.

img_8214

Reduce heat and simmer until the orzo is tender, about 10-12 minutes.

img_8215

Remove the rosemary sprig and bay leaves. Stir in the lemon juice and season to taste.

img_8217Yum! I hope you enjoy this delicious lemony soup as much as I do! Printable down below.

Bon Appetit!

lil-redhaired-girl-3

Lemon Chicken Orzo Soup

  • Servings: 6-8
  • Print

A light and refreshing lemony soup.

Ingredients

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 lb chicken tenderloins, cut into 1 inch chunks
  • salt and pepper
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 4 carrots, peeled and diced
  • 1/2 tsp dried thyme
  • 5 cups chicken stock
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 3/4 cup orzo (uncooked)
  • 1 sprig rosemary
  • juice of 1 lemon

Directions

Heat 1 tbsp olive oil in a large pot over medium heat. Season the chicken pieces with salt and pepper to taste and add to the pot. Cook chicken pieces until golden and set pieces aside.

Heat the remaining olive oil to the pot and add the garlic, onion, and carrots. Cook for about 3-4 minutes until tender, stirring occasionally. Add in the thyme and cook for about 1 minute, until fragrant.

Whisk in the chicken stock, bay leaves, and 1 cup water. Bring to a boil. Stir in the uncooked orzo, rosemary sprig, and chicken pieces. Reduce heat and simmer until the orzo is tender, about 10-12 minutes.

Remove bay leaves and rosemary sprig. Stir in the lemon juice and season to taste.

Leave a Reply

