Homemade Salsa

I hope everyone is having a lovely day today! I’m spending my day off relaxing and reading (because I’ve gotten sucked into another book and can’t stop!), well and of course cooking.

I have had a few recipes I’ve been meaning to post, but have been having some issues with my UC (for more info about my UC read my About section) and have just felt drained after coming home from work. Things are starting to get better, so I should get back on schedule posting more now.

My aunt came up with this salsa recipe many, many years ago when I was young and it was my absolute favorite! Don’t get me wrong, I still will buy salsa when I need it for a recipe, but I will make this when I’m craving chips and salsa. This is smooth and has really good flavor. I’m a huge cilantro fan and cannot get enough of it. The cilantro helps bring good flavor to this salsa.

All of the seasonings are to taste, make adjustments as needed for you. I usually like to use a little less cumin and more of the other seasonings.

This is really quick and easy to make. I hope you try it and enjoy it!

The Cast:

IMG_8677

Combine tomato sauce and rotel in a blender.

IMG_8678

Add cilantro, cumin, garlic powder, garlic salt, and onion powder to taste to the mixture.

IMG_8679

Blend until smooth. Taste and see if flavor is to your liking.

IMG_8680

IMG_8683

How quick and easy was that?! Let me know what you think! Printable down below.

Enjoy!

lil-redhaired-girl-3

Homemade Salsa

  • Servings: 12
  • Print

This homemade salsa is bursting with cilantro flavor!

Ingredients

  • 2- 8oz cans tomato sauce
  • 1- 16oz can rotel
  • cilantro, roughly chopped to taste
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1/4 tsp garlic salt
  • 1/2 tsp cumin

Directions

Combine tomato sauce and rotel in blender. Add cilantro and seasonings to mixture. Blend until smooth.

Adjust to taste and serve with chips!

3 thoughts on “Homemade Salsa

Leave a Reply

